Another year has passed and we are back at the Royal Akarana Yacht Club for our annual prize giving. We didn’t have quite the same turn out as in past years – rumour has it that some members are traveling overseas in search of better weather than we have had in Auckland lately!

President Mike led the proceedings with some jokes and stats that we might have heard last year? We started by honouring our members who have been with the club for 20 years or longer. These members have been presented with (or will be presented with) new name badges that have a gold background.

Moving onto prize giving, Trevor joined Mike for the presentations and they made a great team. Trevor also got the award for collecting the most silverware this year. Some highlights were Francois winning the Gymkhana Trophy for cars under 30 years and reporting that his car is still recovering; Debbie had reluctantly turned in the Gymkhana Trophy for the top Ladies time but got to collect it on behalf of Janine; and Daryl was presented with the wooden spoon in absentia. Chris Haliday was awarded the CommitteeVanKan Cup for his long commitment to the committee.

As ever, we had a good meal and it was great to catch up with everyone. Thank you Graeme for organising again and getting all those prizes engraved, and to Sue for some last minute polishing.

Philippa West

The full list of prize winners is here.

Click here to view more photos on our Gallery page.